Recycling & Litter Prevention

The Delaware, Knox, Marion, Morrow (DKMM) Joint Solid Waste District is a legal political subdivision of the State of Ohio and is funded by a $6.00 per ton fee on municipal solid waste generated within our District. DKMM funds programs that provide education about and alternatives to disposal of generated wastes. These programs include: recycling; composting; education and awareness; solid waste environmental monitoring; and collections for household hazardous waste, electronics, and tires. DKMM also provides grant funding to both private and public-sector entities to implement new waste management initiatives or improve existing programs.

Yard Waste - Compost Area

7425 Thayer Road
Mount Vernon, Ohio 43050

-Hours of Operation-

Summer Hours: March 1st thru October 31st
Monday thru Sunday 7:00am to 7:00pm

Winter Hours: November 1st thru February 28th
Monday thru Sunday 7:00am to 5:00pm


A Note on City Recycling Bins

If you live in the City of Mount Vernon, be sure to check with your local trash hauler for free recycling pickup. In need of a drop-off? Check out the location behind Opportunity Knox at 17604 Coshocton Avenue.

Recycling and Litter Prevention

117 East High Street, Suite 257
Mount Vernon, Ohio 43050
Office Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Closed weekends and holidays

Recycling Coordinator

Matt Baugher
Phone: (740) 393-6704

Thank you for completing the First Responders Residential History ADA Form